RSS

Have a Safe and Happy Holiday

04 Jul

I just wanted to take a few moments to wish each and every one of you a safe and happy Fourth of July. In addition to great food, fireworks, and other plans you may have, I would also like to encourage you to spend time reflecting on and expressing your gratitude to God for the freedoms that you have. I am especially thinking about the freedom to worship openly.

After spending five-plus years in China, the issue of freedom to worship is particularly on my heart every Fourth of July. Although China has come a long way in terms of allowing Christians to gather and worship the Lord, these new-found freedoms remain inconsistent and persecution is still a daily reality in the Middle Kingdom. I know this from things I witnessed while living over there. In some areas, believers had little trouble from the authorities while in other locales, Christians were jailed on a regular basis.

In your prayer time today, please remember your brothers and sisters in China and in other nations where the freedoms we often take for granted are only a pipe dream.

Have a blessed day,

Mick

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment